NOTTINGHAMSHIRE CHESS ASSOCIATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 7:30 pm Friday 23rd July 2021 by zoom

Minutes

Apologies and attendees
 Apologies were received from Shane Bhayatt, Phil Morgan

In attendance:

Nick London - R&B

Barry Redburn - R&B John Swain - Gambit Derek Padvis - Gam Brian Hayward - Gam Mike Naylor - Gam Dave Griffiths - Nomads Graham Neil - Nomads Maurice Hill - Nomads Bob Abrahart - W Bridgford Holly Jacobson - W Brid Chris Budd - W Brid Tim Walker - W Brid Steve Burke - Ashfield Neil Graham - Ashfield Chris Holt - Grantham Graham Ladds - Newark Andy Walker - Exec Cte

2. Previous Minutes

No previous minutes due to the 2020 meeting not taking place due to the pandemic.

3. Any matters arising

Andrew Walker was elected to be chair of the meeting

A minutes silence was held for the death of Robert Richmond,

- 4. Season 21/22
 - a. Proposal

"That LMC be given discretion to modify or suspend existing rules for 2021-22 season as appropriate to accommodate the circumstances of Covid-19 restrictions.

This is to enable standard play league chess to be reestablished."

This was Proposed by Nick London. This was passed unanimously at the meeting given the circumstances of the pandemic.

b. General Discussion

- i. What are the views/circumstances of clubs and their players?
 Venues?
 Not all clubs were present at the meeting. There was no
 attendance from University, Central, West Notts. It was unclear
 for most clubs as to whether they could remain in their current
 venues due to the restrictions associated with the pandemic. It is
 a matter of wait and see. This will obviously feed into how the
 season will work
- ii. Format of 21/22?
 Nick London explained that the views of players and clubs had been sought. Details of this research was before the meeting.
- iii. Likely COVID restrictions/implications for OTB matches
 It was indicated there was some guidance from ECF on this issue.
 It msy again be a wait and see policy.
- iv. County Teams 21/22
 GN explained the rules as per the website. It was explained we needed to make a decision on this point within a month. Mick Frings Offered to do U1400 and it was indicated that a junior team was likely. This would be confirmed. There was time for others and GN would circulate an email to gauge further interest.
- 5. Report of Charity Committee

This Committee had been set up by the EC following RR death. RR had bequeathed a substantial sum of money. The charity itself was in the process of being set up. The NCA could elect 3 trustees.

6. Presentation/announcement of Prizes

There were no league prizes for 20/21 as no season.

The winner of best game was Mike Naylor and Nick London. There was no prize for best swindle. The prizes related to 19/20 season as there was no 20/21 season.

7. Officers Reports

Reports were received from (attached)

Secretary

Treasurer

Auditor

League Secretary

League Management Committee

County Teams

Correspondence Team

Ecf/MCU delegate

Junior Committee

8. Election of Officers (a name next to the post is the current postholder not known to be retiring)

i. President - M. Hillii. Secretary - G Neiliii. Treasurer - S Burke

iv. Executive Committee- President, Secretary, Treasurer,
 M Hill, A Walker, N London (vacancies-to be co opted if necessary)

v. League Secretary- N London vi. Records Secretary- M Naylor

vii. League Management Committee – League Secretary, Records Secretary, C Budd, C Holt, S Scott, D Griffiths, P Morgan, A Robbins

viii. County Teams- VACANT

ix. Correspondence- P Morgan

x. Grader- Abolished (due to LMS system)

xi. Congress Director/committee

Rapidplay Director/committee

County Championship Controller- John Swain, Simon Scott

Steve Burke

xii. Webmaster- D Coatesxiii. Website Contributing Editor- P Morgan

xiv. ECF Delegate- G Neil

xv. MCCU Delegate- C Budd, T Walker,

xvi. Auditor- D Griffiths xvii. Junior Committee- S Scott,

T Walker, L Jacobsen, H Willow, M Swanwick

xviii. Lead Safeguarding Officer P Beckett xix. Deputy Safeguarding Officer- S Burke

xx. Charity Commission. B Abrahart, E Jones, G Ladds, M Taylor, N London. Elected members G Neil, D Griffiths, C Budd

9. Discussion of plans for the centenary year of NCA in 2022. It was agreed that the EC would consider this further.

10.AOB

Further signatories will be needed to the account and this will be discussed by the EC and Steve Burke in particular.